Jim Cummings’ Midwest-set drama Thunder Road was anointed winner of the 2018 SXSW Narrative Feature Competition on Tuesday night (March 13).

The corresponding Documentary Feature Competition winner was People’s Republic Of Desire by Hao Wu.

In the short film awards, Carey Williams’ Emergency won Narrative Shorts, while Charlie Tyrell’s My Dead Dad’s Porno Tapes prevailed in Documentary Shorts, Milk by Santiago Menghini won Midnight Shorts, and Alexa Lim Haas’ Agua Viva was named winner of Animated Shorts.

An Uncertain Future by Iliana Sosa and Chelsea Hernandez won the Texas Shorts category. Meanwhile Beast by Ben Strang prevailed in the Independent Episodics section.

The SXSW Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award named after the late O-Scope founder and Beastie Boy in honour of a filmmaker “whose work strives to be wholly its own, without regard for norms or desire to conform” went to Prospect by Zeek Earl and Chris Caldwell.

Festival brass will unveil the Audience Awards on March 17, and Headliners winners will be announced on March 19.