The revamped animated series follows the original trio of super-powered sisters whose mission in life alternates between fighting crime and going to school. Amanda Leighton, Kristen Li and Natalie Palamides voice Blossom, Bubbles and Buttercup, respectively, while Tom Kenny returns to voice the Narrator/Mayor.

Nick Jennings (Adventure Time) and Bob Boyle (Wow! Wow! Wubzy!) are executive producing the new show.

The original Powerpuff Girls aired in 1998 and went on to earn two Emmys over the course of its 78-episode run. It also spawned a 2003 movie, a 10th anniversary special and a reimagined CG special that aired in 2013.