A freelance photographer in the US has seen his search to find a mystery couple he snapped seemingly in the middle of a proposal go viral... but has still not located the pair.

Matthew Dippel captured the moment on 6 October in Yosemite National Park in California while waiting to take a photograph of his friend Josh.

He usually works in a bar in Grand Rapids, Michigan, but was visiting Yosemite on a road-trip from Seattle down to Los Angeles.

The national park, with its dramatic cliff faces and stunning waterfalls, was a must-stop for the self-taught photographer.

"It's been on my bucket list for a while," he told the BBC. "Yosemite is an incredible place to take photos, honestly it's a hard place to take a bad photo in.

"I had seen a lot of really really beautiful pictures from Taft Point and wanted to see it for myself. We planned on going there at sunset and next thing, well you can see what happened after that."

'Right place at right time'
The 24-year-old was standing with other photographers and tourists, waiting for Josh to take his turn at the 3,500-ft drop ledge, when he took the shot that has now gone viral.

"I had everything all ready to go on my camera so I just had to snap away," he said. "But the couple walked out before he did, so I just was in the right place at the right time.

"I sort of checked my surroundings to make sure I wasn't encroaching on another photographer's work, but there was no-one next to me."

After grabbing shots of Josh, Matthew says he raced around to the point to try to find the couple to show them it.

But he arrived to find dozens of people, including three or four other couples dressed up, all ready to pose.

He asked about 20 of them but none were the couple in his photograph.

Matthew then tasked the internet with finding them a few days ago, after sorting through the photographs when he got back from his trip.