Ashton Turner is among a whopping seven WA players who will form part of Australia’s limited-overs tour of India later this month.

Sandgropers will make up almost half of the 15-man squad, which is essentially increased to 16 with D’Arcy Short providing cover for Shaun Marsh for the initial part of the tour as he awaits the birth of his second child.

Pace trio Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Coulter-Nile and Jhye Richardson have also been selected, as has star all-rounder Marcus Stoinis.

But there was no room for an eighth West Aussie in Mitch Marsh, while in-form Hobart Hurricanes opener Matthew Wade was also left out of the squad.

Turner has been rewarded from his strong recent T20 form, with the middle-order batsman the Big Bash League’s fifth-leading run-scorer.

Australia will play five ODIs and two T20 clashes in India.

Aaron Finch (c) (Victoria)

Usman Khawaja (Queensland)

Shaun Marsh (Western Australia)

Peter Handscomb (Victoria)

Glenn Maxwell (Victoria)

Ashton Turner (Western Australia)

Marcus Stoinis (Western Australia)

Alex Carey (vc) (South Australia)

Pat Cummins (vc) (New South Wales)

Nathan Coulter-Nile (Western Australia)

Jhye Richardson (Western Australia)

Kane Richardson (South Australia)

Jason Behrendorff (Western Australia)

Nathan Lyon (New South Wales)

Adam Zampa (South Australia)

D’Arcy Short (Western Australia; cover for Marsh)