Velocity will be the new team in addition to Supernovas and Trailblazers BCCI

The best women cricketers from India and the rest of the world will congregate for a four-match Women's T20 challenge to be played between May 6 and May 11 at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur. Three teams - Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity - will take on each other in a single round-robin league with the top two teams qualifying for the final on May 11.

The scheduling of the T20 challenge is a follow-up from a one-off exhibition match played in Mumbai last year between the Smriti Mandhana-led Trailblazers and the Harmanpreet Kaur-led Supernovas. Elite T20 stars from the women's circuit including Ellyse Perry, Meg Lanning, Alyssa Healy, Beth Mooney, Suzie Bates and Sophie Devine partook in that game. This year's expanded tournament is another step towards finding the feasibility of a full-fledged Women's IPL.

The captains and list of available players is still to be confirmed although Mandhana and Harmanpreet are understood to be reprising their roles. All four games will be televised by BCCI's host broadcaster, Star Sports.


May 6 - Supernovas vs Trailblazers

May 8 - Trailblazers vs Velocity

May 9 - Supernovas vs Velocity

May 11 - Final