HARRY Redknapp recalled the horror moment that he ran over his wife in front of their granddaughter in tonight's I'm A Celebrity... Get Me Out Of Here!.

The football manager was navigating a 4x4 as part of a task while his teammate Nick Knowles did the driving.

Harry and Nick formed the Red Team alongside Sair Khan and John Barrowman, and had to race the Yellow Team - made up of Fleur East, Anne Hegerty, James McVey, and Rita Simons - up a sandy track as well as retrieve five tokens.

As the DIY SOS star steered, Harry, 71, shared: "I used to think I was a good driver but I had a nightmare and ran over my wife one day.

"She got out the car and I thought she’d crossed the road and I pulled forward and she fell into the road and a bus stopped literally yards away and the most amazing part of the story probably, my grand-daughter is sitting on top of the bus and sees all of this.

"Unreal."

Harry married his wife Sandra in 1967 and the pair have two sons together, footballer-turned-pundit Jamie, and model Mark.

This is not the first time that the star has opened up about the freak accident, previously admitting that he "thought he'd lost" Sandra during an appearance on Good Morning Britain.

Explaining how the incident happened, Harry said at the time that he had just dropped Sandra off at the shops in his Range Rover.

He said that he thought she had already crossed the road when he pulled the motor forward – but the traffic had slowed down and he ran "straight across the side of her ankle".

Harry said: "I thought a car had hit her.

"I heard her scream. I didn’t realise it was me.

"She seemed to have lost all her energy. It slaughtered me to see her not well."

Following the 2016 incident, Sandra was pictured looking tired and pale as she emerged from Poole Hospital in Dorset with her right leg in plaster.