Sync Stories is a column dedicated to our users. Each week, we showcase a different use case for BitTorrent Sync and the personal stories behind it.

In this week’s edition: Luke McKibben of Lukrative Visual shares how Sync helps him work effectively with massive files, creating a suitable workflow and backup system.

From Luke:

I am a videographer based in Houston, Texas, who shoots a range of projects from short documentaries to real estate tours, wedding productions, special events, interviews, and B Roll footage. Some of these projects are multi-hour, multi-camera shoots, and increasingly cameras are capturing a raw 4K image. Read: the file sizes can be massive, which I will get in to later.

Key to handling so much media is a robust, well thought-out, and well-executed organizational structure. This safeguards against wasted time looking for media, or god forbid, accidentally deleting media, an experience I only had once in my early days in the field.

Massive Files, Big Problems
As mentioned, file sizes can be massive. At my home studio, I have countless external drives to keep up with the volume. I work primarily from home, so sometimes I want to access files from an external drive that is connected to a machine I am not currently using. Sure, all of my machines are networked, but reading large media files (video) over the network can not only be “buggy”, but can also tax network resources and slow down general network traffic. Another issue that I have run into is how to get media files to collaborators, sometimes people in other cities. Dropbox and the like are great for sharing small files, or photos, but again, it’s cost prohibitive to buy a dropbox account that can handle video files, and I am convinced they throttle upload speeds, so it can take forever to send media to an editor.

Syncing 9 Terabytes