JESSICA Read thought she was suffering from sunstroke when she first started to feel unwell.

The 18-year-old was looking forward to a trip away with her friends - but nothing could have prepared her for what was to follow.

IT was a scorching hot day in June 2017 when I first started feeling unwell.

I’d finished my final AS Level exam at Marlborough Science Academy in St Alban’s the day before and was basking in the sun with some school friends when I felt a headache coming on.

I pushed it to one side, determined that nothing would get in the way of our upcoming weekend getaway to Amsterdam. We’d had it planned for months as an end-of-year celebration, and I was so excited.

It was a Thursday afternoon, which meant I had a shift at the local leisure centre where I worked as a receptionist, and though I was feeling under the weather I knew I needed the cash for my holiday.

So, reluctantly waving goodbye to my friends, I set off for work.

But by the time I’d finished the four-hour shift, my symptoms had worsened considerably.

I came home feeling nauseous and faint with a pounding headache, but dismissed it as sunstroke.

I’d spent a long time in the sun that day and, feeling my high temperature, my mum Karina, 48, a primary school teacher, agreed.

She suggested a cold shower and some paracetamol.

I spent the whole of Friday in bed, hoping to sleep it off, but that evening I lay awake shaking.

By Saturday morning, I was drenched in sweat.

Then I began suffering diarrhoea and vomiting, despite not having eaten since Thursday.

I felt terrible, but I’d never had sunstroke before and after a quick Google my symptoms seemed a perfect match - headache, dizziness and confusion, loss of appetite and feeling sick.

It was my dad Mark’s 51st birthday that day and I didn’t want to make a big fuss, so I purposefully downplayed how bad I felt to my parents, assuring them I was fine as they headed out for a meal.