Cameroon's electoral body, Elecam, has cleared nine candidates to run for the country's top office. They are:

Paul Biya (RDPC/CPDM)
Garga Haman Adji (ADD)
Maurice Kamto (MRC/CRM)
Libi’i Li Ngue Ngue Cabril (Univers)
Serge Espoir Matomba (PURS/UPSR)
Muna Tabeng Akere (FPD/PFD)
Ndam Njoya Adamou (UDC/CDU)
Franklin Afanwi Ndifor (MCNC/CNCM)
Joshua Osih (SDF/FSD)

A total of 27 people applied to run in the presidential elections due in October, which are set to take place to the background of turmoil in the country's two English speaking regions.

Joshua Osih of the Social Democratic Front and lawyer Akere Muna - a former head of the country’s bar association - are regarded as President Paul Biya's main challengers.

Mr Biya, 85, is seeking a seventh term in office.