Vidarbha are the current title holders of the Ranji Trophy, having won the past two editions Cricbuzz

For the first time since the 2004-05 season, the Ranji Trophy - India's premier domestic tournament - is all set to stretch into March, thanks to BCCI's decision to prepone the Mushtaq Ali T20s before the IPL auctions which is expected to be held in December-January.

According to an official release, the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy is set to run from November 8 to December 1, following which the Ranji Trophy is set to begin (on December 9), with the final starting on March 13.

The Duleep Trophy - on the verge of being scrapped year after year - has been retained and is set to kickstart the 2019 season, running from August 17 to September 8. However, it is yet to be finalised if the same pink-ball format is to be continued with.

This is set to be followed by the three limited-overs tournaments - the Vijay Hazare Trophy (inter-state 50-overs competition; September 24 to October 25), the Deodhar Trophy (inter-zonal 50-overs competition; October 31 to November 4) and the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy (inter-state 20-overs competition; November 8 to December 1) - before the first class tournament kicks off on November 29.

The Women's domestic season will commence with the T20 League that is scheduled to start in the month of October.