Bumrah made his Test debut last year. © Getty

He may have become as important to India's bowling as Virat Kohli is to their batting, but it's clear that Jasprit Bumrah doesn't have the flamboyance of his captain as yet. In these times, where cricketers wear their confidence, and at times arrogance on their sleeves, his shy persona, humble nature and an ever-smiling face make him refreshingly different.

"I'm very happy. I started playing Test cricket a year back and playing all three formats was my dream. I always wanted to play Test cricket. It's been a good journey. I'm learning from the experience that I've gained by playing in South Africa, England, Australia and the West Indies. India will be a different challenge, which I'm looking forward to," he said while attending an event.

Bumrah used the outswinger to good effect during India's recent tour of the Caribbean, where he took 13 wickets, including two five-wicket hauls at just 9.23. Even though it's not a delivery we have seen him bowl often, Bumrah reveals that he has always had the outswinger in his repertoire. "I haven't mastered it. I always had the outswinger. I've not used it a lot, but bowling in England, where the Dukes ball swings for a long period of time, and playing more and more Tests, gave me a lot of confidence. I was able to execute my skills because of these factors," he says.

His teammates in India and Gujarat tell you that Bumrah keeps practising the yorker in the nets till he gets it right. "It's not just that delivery. (To execute) any other delivery, I do a lot of hard work. There's a lot of work that goes behind the scenes. I've to practise extra to execute each and every delivery. So, I try and tick all the boxes before I leave the practice arena," he stresses.