New Zealand have named their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC World Cup, with leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and gloveman Tom Blundell the key inclusions.

Sodhi, who has taken 39 wickets in 30 one-day internationals, pipped fellow leggie Todd Astle as the squad's second spinner alongside left-arm orthodox Mitchell Santner.

Blundell will serve as the reserve wicketkeeper behind Tom Latham, edging out dashing keeper Tim Seifert, who suffered a broken finger a fortnight ago.

Blundell, 28, has played two Tests and three T20Is, but is uncapped at ODI level.

Captain Kane Williamson leads the No.3 ODI team in the world and will command a fast bowling attack of Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Matt Henry and Lockie Ferguson.

The top order is comprised of seasoned batsmen – Martin Guptill, Henry Nicolls, Ross Taylor, Colin Munro and Williamson.

Colin de Grandhomme, Jimmy Neesham and Santner are the allrounders for the Black Caps, who will be looking to go one better after finishing runners-up to Australia in the 2015 World Cup.

"There's been some really tough decisions," said Black Caps coach Gary Stead.

"This has come about over the last four years. It's not just about the what's happened the last one or two months.

"We’ve got a squad that we think will give us a really, really good chance to go far in the tournament."

New Zealand World Cup squad: Kane Williamson, Martin Guptill, Henry Nicholls, Ross Taylor, Tom Latham, Colin Munro, Tom Blundell, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Jimmy Neesham, Ish Sodhi, Matt Henry, Lockie Ferguson, Tim Southee, Trent Boult.