The Perth Stadium will host its first-ever day-night Test. Getty

Australia's men will host Sri Lanka, Pakistan and New Zealand in the upcoming summer season, while the women's team will take on Sri Lanka, India and England at home ahead of the World T20. It will also be the first time since January 1994 that no international game will be played on Australia Day - January 26.

For the 28 international matches set to be played in Australia, apart from the T20 World Cup, there will be 10 venues that will play host - Adelaide Oval, Allan Border Field, Blundstone Arena, The Gabba, Junction Oval, North Sydney Oval, Manuka Oval, Melbourne Cricket Ground, Perth Stadium and Sydney Cricket Ground.

Australia will also play two day-night Tests during this season, apart from playing their first Boxing Day Test against New Zealand in more than 30 years.

"Scheduling international cricket is challenging in that nine of the ten major cricketing countries have seasons similar to ours, so working with them to find space in the calendar to fulfil our obligations to the ICC Future Tours Program is a juggling act," Peter Roach, CA head of cricket operations, said on Tuesday (May 7). "The long-range Future Tours Program had three separate limited-overs series scheduled between India, New Zealand and Australia. When the countries started working through the detail, it was clear that there was not enough space for each series at the proposed times.

"Cricket Australia took the position that while January was our preference for these ODI matches, there are times we need to honour our commitments to work in the greater context of international cricket scheduling. We evaluated different options for an alternative and saw the most value in the March opportunity to extend our window in the traditional cricket season."

Pakistan and Sri Lanka will be the first men's teams to arrive in Australia as they will feature in a T20I tri-series to kickstart Australia's home season. Pakistan will stay on for a two-match Test series, which will also include the first-ever match of the Test championship played in Australia. The second match of the series will be a day-night affair, played at the Adelaide Oval.

New Zealand, who will come later, will also be involved in a day-night Test, played at the Perth Stadium. They will also play the Boxing Day Test, which will be the first time in more than 30 years that the trans-Tasman rivals will be contesting in. It would also be the first time that New Zealand will be travelling to Australia for a Test series while being ahead of them in the ICC Test rankings, even if Australia win all their seven Tests (5 against England and 2 against Pakistan) before that.

The women's team will begin their home summer with a series against Sri Lanka - three T20Is and three one-dayers - followed by a T20I tri-series against England and India. Manuka Oval and Junction Oval will host the matches of the T20I series and the World T20 that follows.

"The Pakistan and New Zealand Tests will be the first matches played in Australia for ICC Test Championship points. The ICC Test Championship will give Test cricket greater context and make every match count with nine countries participating for the 2019-2021 title," Roach said. "The ODI series against New Zealand will also be significant as the last set of ODIs played at home before the ODI League begins in 2020. This league will serve as the part of the qualification process for the 2023 World Cup.

"We're excited about the amount of elite international cricket on home soil in 209-2020, with the ICC Women's T20 World Cup and the final on March 8 providing an excellent platform to lead into the ODI series which commences on March 13."

The home season will conclude with a 'retro-inspired' ODI series against New Zealand in March, to be played in Sydney and Hobart.