Aiden Markram will lead the 'A' side in the four-dayers Getty

Cricket South Africa on Saturday (29th June) announced their four-day squad and one-day squad slated to tour India in August and September. Aiden Markram has been selected as the four-day skipper and Temba Bavuma has been identified as the skipper of the one-day squad.

The upcoming tour will in a way act as a dress rehearsal for South Africa as their senior side is expected to play 3 T20Is and 3 Tests, starting on September 15.

CSA National Selection Panel (NSP) convener Linda Zondi mentioned the 'A' series is vital in a lot of aspects and highlighted the same as well. He said, "This is one of the most important South Africa A tours we have planned for some time."

Linda Zondi also harped on three points that will help South African cricket thanks to this tour. "One of these is to broaden our leadership group and we see both Aiden and Temba playing an important role in this regard. We will be looking at other candidates during the course of the new season. Another is the opportunity to give some of our senior batsmen the chance to acclimatize for the Proteas Test match tour to India in October; and a third is to give opportunity to younger players who have earned their chance through outstanding performance at domestic level."

Anrich Nortje who missed out on the World Cup squad due to an injury has been picked in both the squads. Beuran Hendricks, who came in as a replacement for Dale Steyn, has also been picked in the one-day side. Heinrich Klaasen, who was out of favour for the world cup, also has been slotted into the one-day side.

South Africa A four-day squad: Aiden Markram (C), Temba Bavuma, Theunis de Bruyn, Zubayr Hamza, Beuran Hendricks, George Linde, Pieter Malan, Eddie Moore, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Anrich Nortje, Dane Piedt, Rudi Second, Lutho Sipamla, Khaya Zondo

South Africa A one-day squad: Temba Bavuma, Matthew Breetzke, Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Theunis de Bruyn, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Janneman Malan, Wiaan Mulder, Anrich Nortje, Sinethemba Qeshile, Lutho Sipamla.

Tour Itinerary:

August 29, 2019 -- 1st One-day -- Trivandrum

August 31, 2019 -- 2nd One-day -- Trivandrum

September 02, 2019 -- 3rd One-day -- Trivandrum

September 04, 2019 -- 4th One-day -- Trivandrum

September 06, 2019 -- 5th One-day -- Trivandrum

September 10-13 -- 1st 4-day game -- Waynad

September 17-20 -- 2nd 4-day game -- Mysore